KCARAB is back…

Hello fellow book lovers! 

Sorry for the silence recently, but I’ve been away travelling across Europe. Although I had to pack light, I of course carried my trusty Kindle with me and downloaded plenty of books to keep me occupied during all of our long train journeys.

FullSizeRender

I’ve been reviewing along the way, and I’m now going to share all my reviews with you! Most of the books have been fairly light-hearted and easy-to-read, but there’s a few thrillers and murder mysteries thrown in for good measure. I re-read quite a few books, as I LOVE re-reading books, but I’ve not re-reviewed them.

There’s also a couple of DNFs that simply didn’t grab my attention:

Lift and Separate by Marilyn Simon Rothstein – I just didn’t enjoy the premise, sorry!
All I Left Behind by Sarah J Palmer – the spelling/punctuation errors put me off. I may have persevered had it had a final polish.
The Corner Shop of Whispers by Debbie Viggiano – I just found this too predictable and exclamatory, with everything happening all at once and everyone playing the pronoun game.
Before We Met by Lucie Whitehouse – it seems like this would have been my cup of tea, but sadly it just didn’t hook my attention.

Still to finish:

IQ84 by Haruki Murakami – another re-read and the book I’m currently on, 25% through.
Sometimes I Lie by Alice Feeney – I actually spotted and downloaded this on my travels. I’m 9% through. It didn’t grab me enough at the time so I turned over to IQ84, but I will return to it.
The Heart Goes Last by Margaret Atwood – Atwood is one of my all-time favourite authors so it broke my heart when I just wasn’t in the mood for it (hence only being at 6%) but I WILL finish and review it.
Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher – we watched the TV series whilst we were away and I loved it so much that I decided to buy the book so that I could do a feature on the site. However it’s not quite as well-written as I was expecting, so I’m only at 33%. I’ll do my best to finish so I can do my feature!
The Cosy Teashop in the Castle by Caroline Roberts – I’m only at 4% with this as I wasn’t in the mood for the genre at the time. I think I’ll return to it, but it may end up a DNF.

Still to start:

Lie Still by Julia Heaberlin – I LOVED Black Eyed Susans (remember?) so I was sort of ‘saving’ this and then our travels finished before I had time to start it. I will read and review it!
Northern Lights by Philip Pullman – I got an odd urge to re-read this; I will do at some point.
Mad Love by Nick Spalding – can’t really remember much about this one, but I’ll give it a go at some point.
The Girl Who Lied by Sue Fortin – again, one I downloaded pre-travel after liking the description. Read and review to come…
Scoundrels: Volume One by Major Victor Cornwall and Major St. John Trevelyan (from new start-up, Black Door Press) – I’ve heard about this one a lot on the grapevine. I’ve pre-ordered a copy, but I’m going to try and get hold of an ARC so that I can review it before it comes out next month…

FullSizeRender-2

