Guest Review: Days of Blood and Starlight‏ Teaser!


“OK, so a while ago, I reviewed a book for keepcalmandreadabook. It wasn’t my usual genre but I loved the book anyway – from the irridescent cover to the clever story. The book was Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor. I ended my review by saying I’d love to read the next in the trilogy, so imagine my delight when – some months ahead of the next book being available – I was handed the promotional sampler for the follow up, Days of Blood and Starlight. I devoured the 82 pages – the first 20 chapters – in one sitting.

Was it as good as the first book? Yes! Am I now even more eager for the full book to arrive so I can complete the story? Yes! This was a beautifully produced sampler, from the text design to the cover, and the story was every bit as enticing as the first book. The writing is evocative, the setting – part in a recognisable, modern day Prague, part in fantasy world – was well balanced.

The only negative (based on the sample chapters) is that I am not sure that anyone who has not read the first book would have any idea what was happening in the second! Even if this was only a teaser from the publisher to whet the appetite, I’ve now got great expectations of the main course!”

3 thoughts on “Guest Review: Days of Blood and Starlight‏ Teaser!

  1. part-time business says:

    Howdy! I could have sworn I’ve been to your blog before but after browsing through many of the posts I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyhow, I’m certainly pleased I found it and I’ll be book-marking it and checking back frequently!

  2. replace a toilet says:

    Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that
    I have truly enjoyed surfing around your blog
    posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again very soon!

Leave a Reply

