What Sarah Read

Hello all! I’m back from lovely Crete, with my Kindle still intact (just about) and I managed to read the following in my 7 days there:

Room by Emma Donoghue. 8/10, full review to come.
Sweet Temptation by Lucy Diamond. 7/10, a fun and uplifting read about 3 girls on a weight-loss mission and their trials and tribulations in love.
The Woman He Loved Before by Dorothy Koomson. 9/10, full review to come.
Holes by Louis Sachar. 7/10, a popular childhood read that I missed out on and read to discuss with a friend – an unusual but amusing book that I enjoyed.
A Girl Like You by Gemma Pearson. 9/10, a predictable start but it ended up being a great read – perfect beach material.
I Don’t Know How She Does It by Allison Pearson. 9/10, an old favourite I couldn’t resist re-reading.
I Think I Love You by Allison Pearson. 2/10, a severe let-down after I Don’t Know How She Does It, unfortunately. I found it hard to connect with the characters and the ending felt rushed.
Red Sky in the Morning by Elizabeth Laird. 7/10, a book I had a sudden urge to read after about 4 years. Reading from an older perspective didn’t take away its poignancy and heartwarming theme.
Updating Under the Influence by Sally Beerworth. 9/10, a great snappy book of anecdotes that had me laughing out loud on the plane. The perfect pick-me-up; I recommend keeping it on your Kindle for a dull moment!

I wish I could review more in full, but life and work is about to get very busy – especially after my break! Keep your eyes peeled for my thoughts on We Need To Talk About Kevin, Room and The Woman He Loved Before – plus I’ll be reading and reviewing It’s A Man’s World very soon.

All in all, the perfect week away!

Leave a Reply

